Attn: Medical Schools and Medical Departments

I want to know what surgeries were performed on me October 30, 2007 when I went to an outpatient surgery center to have sinus polyps removed. I left several hours later with a different face. According to the surgery report, I was given a septoplasty, a Caldwell-Luc surgery and a turbinate reduction. I had never seen any doctor for any nasal or sinus problem. I had been referred to the ENT for tinnitus.

The first change I noticed was a smaller and shorter nose. The bridge of my nose was narrowed and the septum shortened.  My nostrils were pulled up. The bulb was deflated. One plastic surgeon noted ”palpable osteotomies along the nasal bridge,” while other plastic surgeons and ENT’s have said this does not appear on CT scans. I am not sure what would appear. The surgery report notes that “anterior-to-posterior dissection was done through the back wall of the ethmoid infundibulum through the basal lamella through the posterior ethmoid system.” This was done on both sides. I wonder if bone could have been removed from my nasal bridge during this process. I was distraught about my nose and tried to pull it down and stretch it. This has resulted in an oversized bulb, still pulled up. A pre-surgery CT scan notes that “no significant septal deviation is seen.” I acquired a nasal hump in the surgery. I have been told that there is now an “S” curve in my septum. The tiny bones in the bridge area of my nose were exposed. Soft tissues as well as bone were removed from this area. I acquired sunken eyes and malar bags in the surgery.

According to the surgery report, my nose may have been detached from my skull during the surgery. It is noted that an “osseous-cartilagenous incision with the nose attached to the face was done.” A plastic surgeon stated that my entire nose was tipped upward in the surgery. Caldwell-Luc was done on the right, according to the surgery report because “severe mucopolypoid disease was encountered.” The pre-surgery MRI and CT reports note no polyps or any disease on the right side of my face, except for “a small ovoid soft tissue mass…in the right ethmoid air cells…” and “mild mucosal thickening…in the right maxillary sinus”—noted in the CT report. The right side of my face and my right eye were damaged after the surgery. I did not notice until some of the swelling and infection cleared up that the right side of my face is now significantly smaller than the left. The right eye droops. About a year after the surgery, an ophthalmologist noted that the structure around the right eye was “shallow.”

I noticed a change in my forehead weeks after the surgery. Horizontal wrinkles appeared on the left side. My forehead had been previously smooth. According to the surgery report “polypoid material that emanated from the frontal sinuses was cleaned out.” Vertical wrinkles appeared between my brows, possibly due to the narrowing of the bridge. I noticed that the skin on my forehead was loose whereas previously, it had been tight. Several months after the surgery, a plastic surgeon wrote in a consultation report that “she believes her forehead has come down.” This was news to me. I went to the mirror and saw it for the first time. In photos taken by another plastic surgeon, the dropped forehead was apparent. Something was removed from my forehead, but I don’t know what.  My forehead which was always large, is becoming increasingly foreshortened.

I noticed right away that the fullness of my face was missing. Wrinkles appeared next to my mouth.  I noticed jowls whereas before the surgery, I’d had none. A dramatic change is apparent in dated before-and-after photos. I noticed that my cheekbones were reduced in size. By one year after the surgery, it was apparent that my face had become misshapen. The whole right side of my face is now much smaller than the left. This was visible to the first ENT I saw after the surgery as he mentioned to me several times that the surgeon had removed much more material on the right even though I’d had no disease on the right. My right cheekbone aches and continues to cave in.

In all, this was removed from my nose and face: “…multiple pieces of flat bone and cartilage, in aggregate measuring 4.0 x 4.0 x 0.2 cm. Also present is some gray mucoid soft tissue, in aggregate measuring 2.0 x 2.0 x 0.6 cm.”

I have been told that I have no inferior turbinates by several doctors. Others have said I have some tissue remaining.  The ENT who performed the surgeries noted “atrophic rhinitis” on all my post-op visit reports. I would like to know what surgeries were performed and what was removed. I would like to know how my facial measurements have changed. I have pre and post-op CT scans, MRI’s, and good pre and post-op photos. I would make an excellent project for medical students. Please contact me at ens311@gmail.com.

~ by ens3 on May 8, 2010.

One Response to “Attn: Medical Schools and Medical Departments”

  1. You are so organized. All my medical papers are in disarray. I think it is due to depression meds. I had a doctor that said no email, news or newspapers and I am suffering. Don’t like to walk as someone will see me. While body hurting.

Leave a Reply

 
