Empty Nose Syndrome and Suicide: An Unmentionable Topic

Sunday morning, I fired up my laptop, and logged into my website. Under “Blog Stats,” there is a category called “Search Engine Terms,” further described by the statement, “These are the terms people used to find your blog.” My page listed a single set of terms for that morning: empty nose syndrome suicide. I stopped breathing for a few seconds, transfixed by the words. Who was that person who had made this search?

 A year and a half ago, it could have been me.

 At fifty-five, I was rock solid in my stand on suicide. Life was sacred. It was out of the question that I would ever consider taking my own. I had that issue covered, for myself, and for other people, too. “No matter what suffering a life entails,” I would have said, “it is still worth living. You don’t know what lessons are yet to be learned, or what purpose is yet to be served.”

 Be careful what you think you know. You might just get a quiz.

 Following a sinus surgery in October 2007, it dawned on me slowly that my inner nose had been destroyed. The reality gained momentum that I might be struggling for a satisfying breath of air for the rest of my life, perhaps thirty years. This knowledge came at a time when minutes were eternities, and not even sleep provided escape.

 For months, I pushed the idea of suicide out of my mind: “Life was sacred…no matter what suffering a life entails…” Until one sleepless night, I broke like a twig, and googled “assisted suicide.” I couldn’t see the computer screen through the sheets of tears. It was the end of my life, as I knew it–the annihilation of my philosophical and moral ground. How could I even think of doing this to my family?

 “How” is the reality of Empty Nose Syndrome, a condition that has brought thousands to their knees. Your nose dries up, and doesn’t work properly. You have to irrigate it to clear it of debris. It is miserably uncomfortable. You carry around a nasal spray bottle filled with saline, and surreptitiously spray your nose throughout the day. You cannot draw a satisfying breath of air because the turbinates—the inner organ of the nose—have either been reduced or removed. Turbinates are bony structures that filter and humidify the air we breathe, and create the resistance and nerve sensation of breathing. How horrible, right?

 And how does one acquire this horrifying condition? It is an iatrogenic (medically-caused) condition. It is entirely created by doctors—ENT’s—Ear, Nose and Throat doctors, also known as otolaryngologists. In spite of the many studies that warn against turbinate reductions, except in necessary cases such as cancer and cystic fibrosis, turbinate reductions are performed almost routinely, with any nasal or sinus surgery: http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0BUM/is_2_82/ai_98248242/ , http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1292809-overview, http://archotol.ama-assn.org/cgi/content/abstract/133/9/858.  My turbinate reduction was performed in the course of removing an asymptomatic polyp. I had never complained of a nasal or sinus issue in my life.

 The next obvious question is–If Empty Nose Syndrome is known to be caused by turbinate reductions, why are ENT’s performing them left and right, with little or no medical rationale? The only possible answer to this question is—money. They are performing these surgeries for money. One forumer on the Empty Nose Syndrome Association website commented that turbinate reductions are the new “bread and butter” of the ENT business, much like tonsillectomies and adenoidectomies once were: http://www.emptynosesyndrome.org/. Perhaps only a small percentage of those of us used by ENT’s to enhance their incomes are destroyed by their unnecessary surgeries. Maybe those odds aren’t too bad, in their view.

 Under the Posting Rules and Guidelines (now locked from view) for the Empty Nose Syndrome Association forum, a rule was once posted that no one could mention suicide. When I first arrived there, in November 2007, some of the older forum members would occasionally refer to forum members who had committed suicide. The mention was often followed by a shushing comment. I did a search on the forum for “suicide” and came up with numerous threads, including one from January 2006, entitled, “good-bye and bless you all.”

 Of course, there are no studies investigating the numbers of people who have died as a result of suicide linked to Empty Nose Syndrome. Who would finance such a study? The AMA? Maybe the Association for Research in Otolaryngology.

 Whoever you are—you who found my site by searching “empty nose syndrome suicide,” and all you others who have thought about it–hang in there. I won’t promise you a rose garden, but it does get better. It is the body’s will to heal itself. Promising technologies are being developed, in the form of stem cell technology, and tissue regeneration.

 I want you to stick around and talk about this. Make as much noise as you can. If enough of us refuse to be silenced, maybe the ENT “business” will be forced to pay attention.

~ by ens3 on July 27, 2009.

43 Responses to “Empty Nose Syndrome and Suicide: An Unmentionable Topic”

  1. Hey! I really want to thank you for writing this article. Like yourself, i had my surgery for polyps removal at the age of 19 to enjoy the breath of fresh air. . I knew little. I had done little research. I was excited for myself, believed in the power of positive thinking and put my trust in a gregarious famous doctor. What i got in return was devastation and the little i had was also taken away from me. Empty nose syndrome is the worst. I had dreams of creating the life i wanted. Instead, i struggle to find energy, constantly have the feeling that im going to die of suffocation, always anxious and on the borderline of depression. I investigated what was happening to myself, went to another ENT and was told that my passages were wide open. I researched my symptoms online and came across Fibromygalia, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome etc but there was some or the other missing link. I was going mad, insane. I was undergoing a problem that i couldnt even talk about. No one would believe me. It was a disease that wasnt manifesting on the outside for people to notice. I became a typical case of bad workman blames his tools. I cam across as a tired boy making excuses. Today for the first time after 8 years after my surgery, ive realised the truth. The worst thing in the world is when there are no answers for what you are feeling and when you start believing yourself that you are making things up in your head. Thank you. Reading about your long years with ENS is truly an inspiration. Life is meant to be lived. Let god answer for his crimes when we meet him. If you do come across a solution please let us all know. You have our email ids. I live in Mumbai, India. PS: One solution giving me slight relief atleast is by doing diagphram breathing. Hope it helps most of you. There is lots more to write but ill leave it at this. Regards to all. May medical literacy spread quickly and thouroughly over all the earth.

  2. There is not a day that goes by that i want to kill myself from this condition. It is good to see some positive comments here than some have been able to recover. I am a guitarist and singer as well and since my surgery i can no longer do either, but i pray and try to keep faith that one day i will be able to be active in my life. This has caused as much neurological and mental pain as it has caused physical problems. It is interesting that i have realized after this tragedy that our entire nervous systems and brain function is largely maintained by proper air flow, mucosallary clearance, and normal airway resistance… all of this which has been completely stripped away from me like many others here by a surgeon who failed to disclose the real risks with sinus surgery, among many others including vision damage, csf leaks, meningitis… all these problems much more common than reported. It seems our medical community too often gets away with causing damage either through unsafe medications, surgeries, any other procedures. I believe it is all in the interest of money at the expense of the patient. Cynical? yes, and rightfully so. I have seen more people in my life damaged from medical procedures than helped. My advice.. stay far away unless you are on your death bed. But unfortunately people do not learn about these things until its too late and the damage is done.

  3. This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I’ve foubd something which helped me. Cheers!

  4. jesus is with us all in those who believe. He will heal you. I almost died due to my own hand of taking my life. Jesus gave me a second chance at life and he will give you determination to fight you have to take your despair and turn your despair into determination. I had a sinus surgery in the late 1998 waited a year after sinus surgery which was successful, to have rhinoplasty (nose job) which after surgery you know something just was not right. jesus will guide you into what to do. Do not have hatered in your heart for others that have hurt you. I know i will survive thru this pain and suffering this has caused me. I will fight disability who believes i am not disabled i will work with my lawyers and i will be victorious!!

  5. I was wondering if there are any groups in NYC formed to address this problem where you can share your experiences and get input.

    • I do not know of any. I would suggest you ask the Empty Nose Syndrome Awareness group on Facebook.

  6. Thanks to all ENS contributors. I am one of you moreover from a third world country where medical is as expensive as gold! I have suffered this problem since 2004 todate. I have lost weight and everybody turns heads to look at me for they believe am HIV+. No sleep and bad breath is the toll of the day which has led to rejection by everybody on earth! It is all me and my son….the two of us together, i am glad he understands.

    However, you people, should we die because of this horrible disease? NO, NO, NO, NO, and NO! We must fight to live on the hard way to keep sensitizing others about this disease.

    However, in my country where people are illiterate, they have totally failed to understand me. Colleagues at work laugh and gossip about me whenever I go to the loo to humidify my nose and to reduce on bb. I am trying to find means of going public and preach about this disease but do not know how.

    Lastly, i beg you to fight on till God fulfills his duty to take us himself.

    God bless you.

    Vasta

  7. I had a septoplasty plus a turbinectomy a week ago. Before that, I was tortured by persistent nasal congestion and couldn’t fall asleep or study efficiently at all. Sometimes I could only finish one homework problem for 4 hours. Most time when I was sitting there “studying”, all I could actually do was merely fighting against the lack of oxygen and thinking of suicide.

    Then I had the surgery. It went on really well after the surgeon took out the splint. I had an never ever experienced feeling of breath: unblocked, fresh air rushing into your nose. However, after a few days, it gradually backed to before. I hope it’s just a transitional period and after a month it will be completely gone. All in all, this was my last shot and be it a success or a total failure, I will face it and accept my fate.

  8. I believe I’m one of the lucky ones. I saw an ent two months ago for possible minor issues with my tonsils, and also mentioned an annoying sensation on the left side of my nose. He said he cud get rid of the tonsils and fix the nose with a simple procedure. I’m usually pretty proactive, but he seemed so confident that I didn’t give it much thought…it’s now six weeks since the procedures. I believe it went well, but during the recovery I educated myself…I know, shud have done it before. anyway, I saw the ent to remove some of the clotted blood. during the visit I asked how much he took, he said thirty percent of only the inferior turbinate, both sides, tho I only expected one side. I feel like my breathing is good, tho on the left side, I may have a little dryness. I believe I’ll b fine. reading the stories here breaks my heart and terrifies me too. one question, does there seem to b a percentage of turbinate removed that seems to be the key for problems? I hope if anyone reads this with ens, that a cure or significant procedure is found soon and u may find relief u so desperately need. x

  9. I was a clinical depressive before I had this surgery. I considered suicide many times when my nose functioned. How am I supposed to cope WITH ENS type symptoms.

    • Sometimes a gift from the universe comes wrapped in garbage. A disability can come to you in order to force you to increase your mettle. I know how unbearable the suffering of ENS can be, so I realize the suggestion that anything remotely good could come of it may sound cruel. But something good can come from anything. Just allow the possibility to live in your heart. ENS forces a strength beyond the pale. It is possible that if you can rise to the challenge of climbing this mountain, managing your clinical depression may come to seem like crossing a series of molehills.

      • It causes me to experience a constant state of panic – I was an anxious person before surgery My depression needs 7-8 hours uninterrupted sleep to keep under control. I am getting 4-5 hours fitful, restless sleep. I already had borderline obstructive sleep apnea before the surgery! I have allergies, ear problems, and am asthmatic.

        This is a living hell. I’m not conventionally religious, but do believe in some kind of higher force – but I genuinely think that there could be practically no chronic illness worse for my pre-existing state of health than ENS.

        Maybe if I have enough chest infections in winter I’ll die of pneumonia … here’s hoping.

  10. I had a septoplasty four months ago today. I am experiencing symptoms of ENS – dry, inflamed nose, paradoxical obstruction etc. I had no turbinate tissue taken but nevertheless I am going through this. I may recover over the next few months but have shown no real signs of recovery so far.

    If this continues after 12 post surgery months I will kill myself. It’s horrendous.

    • Horace, You will get better. Hang in.

      • How can you be sure?

      • If you can believe it, you can do it. Belief is half the battle. And I say this from experience. I never really believed that God would forsake me to the extent that I would have to live in that condition indefinitely. I knew there had to be a way. Because Love is the creative force in the universe. It is the ultimate rule to which all else must bow down. This does not mean The Way is easy, obvious or simple to follow. It just means there is a Way. Your belief can lead you to the way. It led you here. It will lead you to other pieces of the puzzle that comprises your way. Please keep in touch. I care.

  11. I just searched for ’empty nose syndrome suicide.’ I guess that tells you where I am with this… I am a recently married 30 years old doctor, I should be enjoying my life and my career, but the effects of this iatrogenic illness are seriously making me want to end my life. I am crying my eyes out typing this. Don’t know what to do to get away from the constant pain and irritation that is now my life.

    • Renee,

      I am so sorry. It is a pain like no other. Please hang in there and try everything there is to try. I believe that premarin in the nose helped me to get better. There are many other healing suggestions listed in the “Healing” section of this blog. You are young and well-educated, and have every reason to live. Help is not far off in the future with the promise of stem cell therapy. You need to live and get well and help to bring awareness–as a doctor–to this serious, life-threatening iatrogenic illness. Please keep in touch here and on the other ENS sites and let us know how you are doing. You can do this. You can.

      Kris

  12. I had my surgery 20yrs ago and my life has become hell. Narcotics are a everyday thing for me. Over the counter do nothing. If I don’t take pain meds I will throw up. I either sleep with foam ear plugs sideways in my nose. Or a ski mask on my face and a humidifier running about 2 feet from my face. I am constantly holding my face to warm it up and try not to breath out of my nose. I can’t imagine life without this. I would give an arm for a solution.

    • Mein Name ist Robert stimme Ihren Ausführungen in vollen Umfang zu.
      Bei mir wurde bei mehreren Ops.die Nasenscheidewand eliminiert sowie
      die Nasenmuscheln komplett entfernt.
      Ja das ist die Hölle auf ERDEN .kein Schlaf,ständig niedergeschlagen,
      Nicht mehr Leistungsfähig,kein Sport mehr,ständig das Gefühl mit einer
      Art von Grippe herum zu laufen.
      Ja da KANN einen der gedanke an SM schon kommen.
      War schon fast in allen großen Kliniken Plastisch sowie HNO keine Hilfe!
      Einzig vielversprechender Arzt nach Jahrelanger Recherche wäre evtl.
      Prof.Gubisch in Stuttgart-

      • Wirklich? Ich habe bisher nur von Dr. Bodlaj gehört… Hast du noch Suizidgedanken oder geht es dir besser?

  13. Hi there, I’m very glad I came across this page tonight. All of those suffering with these soul destroying symptoms have my greatest sympathy.
    I’m a 25 year old actor who had a septiplasty/sub mucosal inferior turbinate resection procedure 5 months ago. I was expecting the first couple of weeks post op to be tough but I knew something wasn’t right when a few months had gone by and my sense of smell was diminished, my nose had changed shape and my breathing was worse than before.
    The surgeon told me that it was most likely still swelling and that it could take a full year to recover from the procedure!!! This was a very different sales pitch to the “you’ll be back at the gym fully recovered within 2 weeks” line I’d been told pre-op.
    I still had faith in what the man said at that point so I got myself together and left the office.
    My symptoms didn’t feel life threatening and I had hope that they’d improve over time.
    Over the course of the next few months I started to tune in to the differences post op in my breathing, my smell and my feeling like I was going to run out of air if I didn’t sniff hard at the end of a sentence. (I wasn’t too pleased about the new boxer nose either).
    It just didn’t feel like swelling to me at that point. If anything I felt too open on one side, and that side would alternate due to the normal nasal cycle. There was also a whistling sound every time I breathed in through my nose which drives me crazy. My lateral cartilage would now also collaps when I took in a breath because my body wasn’t getting enough resistance and my nose was tryin too suck in too hard. This overly open IT airway was also causing the impaired smell because the air wasn’t flowing upwards as much any more to where the smell sensor is.
    But the deal breaker for me was the fact that the muscles I had worked on SO hard as an actor to be able to engage with emotion and form tears in my eyes had been destroyed. The Inferior Turbinate bone with the tissue that would swell and contract, causing irritation to my tear duct, had been removed.
    I can’t do my job anymore. I can’t do my passion any more. I lost my job. I’m losing my relationship. I don’t want to live any more.

    I went back numerouse times to the surgeon’s office to try and make sense of it. Allergies were blamed at first. It took me a while to figure out that my removed turbinates were responsible for the symptoms I have and it was a real struggle to get any straight answers from the person that so willingly destroyed my life.

    • M annon, This surgery should never happen to anyone. I am especially saddened when I hear the story of a young person who has had their life cut off by a greedy and/or stupid ENT. I, too, was shocked to discover that this nothing surgery which barely warranted an explanation when I was told to have it turned out to be something which entailed lengthy periods of irrigations (which I had never needed n my life), life-threatening infectons,major facial changes, inability to speak or even breathe, and adjustment of my “unrealistic expectations from the surgery.” I’d had no expectations from the surgery as I’d had no condition which required surgery. I had thought I was having an asymptomatic polyp removed from my nose, not a huge pile of bone removed from my face and nose.

      What these doctors are doing is a crime and I hope and pray, for all of us, that someday it will be treated as a crime.

      I did get better and I hope you will too.

      • Thanks you for taking the time to read and reply ens3. Glad you recovered and I appreciate the hope.

    • I am so sorry this has happened to you.

  14. I had a turbinate surgery over 20 years ago and I started to get sleeping problems after a few weeks. I went back to the doctor and he blamed it on my allergies. Over the years the sleeping problems became miserable and breathing was painful. I struggle with this disease every day and it makes me angry that some ENT’s refuse to admit its existence. STILL. I hope that tissue regeneration will cure us all some day. However I will have lost the bulk of my natural life to this painful disease.

    • I feel sure there will one day be a cure for ENS, but what a shame that doctors have caused such enormous suffering and expense.

  15. hey , brother i am agree with you .Previously i have no serious problem,only slight problem occuring during rainy season .Thats not very critical.very very mild .but due to doctor wrong advice and without telling me ,he also removed my turbinate.this things happens due to increasing doctor and lack of knowledge ,for money.i am also 21 years.but frnd in ohio ,there is good dr. like dr.steven houser they treat empty nose syndrome

    • Yes Dr. Houser is a good doctor and he will treat you (if he can), but if he cannot after a while he will no longer respond to your questions. I don’t blame him, it is something he has to do to continue with his study of ENS. I have been suffering for 13 years and I am now considering suicide. I have exhausted everything else. No medical coverage and nothing to do if I did have medical coverage.

  16. Mandy read thiss……….

  17. I had turbinectomy about 50% last year on one side and on the other this year. I cant feel the fresh air in my nose anymore and the cold weather is very hurtful. I have dryness and have left my cushy job and and sitting home getting fat. Why do ENT doctors not realise the pain they put people through. suicide in this case is finishing off the job these ENTs do to you, they are the killers and murderers.

    • Anonymous, I am sorry it happened to you too. This surgery should be a felony assault. It results in death and disability far too often. Almost never is the surgery and the resultant suffering warranted by the presenting condition. I cannot begin to estimate the financial burden to the medical system. In my case, this unnecessary surgery resulted in hundreds of thousands of dollars in medical insurance costs, thirty thousand dollars out-of-pocket expense, suffering beyond imagining, and it came close to resulting in my death. I have often said that if a monster broke into my home, attacked me, and caused this kind of suffering, he would spend years of his life in prison. In both cases, the motive would probably be money. Why is it legal for doctors to rob and maim?

  18. Hola mi nombre es tatiana anuff , hace 5 años me sacaron mis cornetes inferiores completamente y muchas veces he pensado en no vivir mas…. pero no soy capaz de hacerlo yo…. pido a Dios que me ayude…. aue la ciencia invente algo pronto pues no quiero imaginar mi vejez asi….. me siento que no puedo mas …… nadie entiende mi sufrimiento…. dormir es dificil…. caminar en la calle es dificil…. comer en fin estoy muy debilitada por esta condicion y pensar que el medico que me lo hizo esta disfrutando de todo y yo sdin esperanza…. lo hizo solo por el dinero que ganaria en esa cirugia….

    • A rough translation:

      Hello my name is tatiana Anuff, 5 years ago I took my inferior turbinates completely and I have often thought to live no more …. but I can not do it myself …. I ask God to help me …. Aue science invent something soon because my old age I do not think so … .. I feel I can not more … … … no one understands my suffering. Sleeping is difficult …. walking on the street is difficult …. I eat so much weakened by this condition and think that the doctor that I did enjoy all this and I hope … sdin. did it just for the money

      they would in the surgery ….

      Tatiana,

      I am so sorry. What was done to you should be a criminal offense. Keep asking God to help you and to hold you up until a medical solution is available. It will not be a very long time. You can do do this. You are doing it. Be strong.

      ens3

  19. I have to be honest, I have thought about suicide. The only thing that has stopped me is how it would affect my family so I though maybe I should tell them, prepare them for when it happens to maybe make it easier for them to deal with but I doubt they could ever be prepared for it. I am a singer/songwriter and havnt been able to sing for about a year and a half because of this condition. I average about three to four hours sleep a night because it feels like I am breathing broken glass. Singer for me was like oxygen, I needed it to live and without it there doesn’t seem to be a point anymore. I am not sure what to do.

    • Dear Anon, Please try to hang in there for your family and for yourself. I was where you are at one time and I am better now. It took about three years and great effort, but I am better today. Be strong. There is hope.

      • It has been a long time since a post describing how you are doing. Since you say you are “better today” it might be nice and inspiring to add a post describing how you have improved through this long struggle.

      • I did stop writing the blog because I got better. Writing it kept me sane through months and years of torture. The suffering kept me focused on the effort to bring awareness to this horrible unnecessary condition.

        I will try to summarize the path of my improvement and how I experienced it. This completely unnecessary surgery was done to me October 30, 2007. Within 10 days, my blissfully comfortable nose (I had never had a nasal or sinus problem in my life) morphed into a dry, burning gulch. I was smothering every minute just as if someone were trying to snuff out my life with a pillow. By evening every day, I was hysterical from the breathlessness, nasal dryness and pain. I had very severe pain from the bone amputation from my face. I could only sleep two hours at most each night and only that with drugs. My stamina was compromised by lack of sleep. It was truly a fight every day to endure.

        I will not remember this exactly right, but I will do my best. About four months in, I conquered my hospital-acquired antibiotic-resistant sinus infection, acinetobacter. I began to sleep about four hours each night. Then I started taking Klonopin which lowered the level of sensation in my head. It was a great relief to suffer less. About six month in, I slept for eight hours for the first time. This raised the level of my emotional control through the days, but my suffering was still intense.

        Toward the end of the first year, I began to notice improvement. I believe it had been going on for several months, but the improvement came in such tiny increments that I couldn’t be sure it was happening at first. It was near the end of the first year, when I began to put the Premarin solution in my nose. I had been struggling to get a prescription for months and finally found a doctor who would prescribe it. This may have been what saved me, although the alternative medicine certainly played a role. Around this time, I would occasionally stop thinking about my nose for brief periods—10 minutes, then 20 minutes. I was stunned each time to realize this had happened.

        The improvement continued steadily through the second year. Again, each improvement came in an increment so small that it would have been unnoticeable had I not been able to remember back to a time months earlier when I had been suffering much more. The trajectory of my improvement was complicated by issues related to the Caldwell-Luc. For nearly a year, I suffered intolerable facial pain from abscessed teeth which had been pushed into a sinus cavity due to the surgery. The dentist I saw for this year was incompetent. When I finally went to a competent dentist who discovered the problem and rebuilt the teeth, I came out of another version of hell created by the surgery. This was August or September 2010. When the pain in my face stopped, I realized that my nasal condition had continued to improve and was almost bearable. I could forget about my nose for up to an hour.

        The improvement has continued for the past year, I believe at a faster rate. Also, I only stopped suffering the intense burning in my nose in the past year. Now I can forget about my nose for many hours. I may have some awareness that my nose is dry, but it is not so dry that it drives me crazy. My breathing is only a problem during exercise. The improvement continues. I have stayed in contact with 2 other ENS sufferers who also experience ongoing improvement through 3 and 4 years of ENS.

        There is hope.

    • Hi my name is “Sean” i am or was a singer as well, although i was not a professional singer, i did enjoy doing it and i was getting better at it, it was one thing that made me diffrent form others, somthing that stood out and made me happy, after i had my surgery to have my nasal turbinates reduced, my vocals slowly diminshed, the passion for singing always remains but do to the sinus surgery it left me in the cold, but i feel like it will get better, my faith in God and my family is what keeps me going, there are days when i do becaome miserable because i cant sing like i used to but then i think about other who situation may be worst than mine like some one who swims for a living but cant do it anymore due to them losing there legs in a car accident, i feel like there is a pot of gold on the othere side of the rainbow “patience is a virtue” and God does everything for a reason, it may be year before this issue is resolved but i know there will be something done about it, just continue to do your research abouth this issue, and if there is anything that is numbing/soothing the pain and long as its not harmful continue to do it until we can find a soulution, we are all in this fight together!!!

      • Sean, Your spiritual perspective will keep you strong. Yes, we are all in this fight together!!! I am glad to hear your voices. There are many of us. Maybe our strength in numbers will help to bring this senseless maiming to an end. ens3

  20. Desmos, I am so, so sorry–and outraged! How dare they do this to someone your age! I will send you a message tomorrow on the website. K

  21. If you are up for it please send me a message on the ens website (Desmos). I am also from ohio. I am 21 and recently had resections of half inferior and middle turbinates plus surface cautery. I was doing so well before this surgery that it has impacted me all the more, I am now miserable. We need to a group effort together, maybe even get some people from ohio (I know a few already) and push to have these surgeries stopped. It is absolutely ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

 
